bits and bobs, and oh yea, Ascia AKF!

This isn’t reaaallyy meant to be just a school blog lol so I figured I would include some pictures I’ve taken over the past few days of Kuwait and my surroundings in general! We haven’t been able to travel around Kuwait much yet just because you need a car to do that and there’s only so much money one’s willing to fork out for a taxi lol but inshallah we’re planning on hiring one out soontime! The week after next we’ve got a week off for Eid (yay Muslim country lol) so we want to go explore and do some sightseeing! A lot of people, including teachers are travelling because everything is kinda sorta nearby (Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Bahrain etc.) but I personally want to get to know Kuwait first before I go elsewhere. It really is a beautiful country and I want to see more of it!

The sunrise in the morning when I’m up getting ready is amazing! I don’t have the best view from my apartment, but if I step onto the balcony I get a good enough glimpse of the gulf and a few palm trees and it does the job in satisfying my ickle heart lol

In my pursuit of finding a hijab style that I could bear wearing in the Kuwaiti heat, I’ve kinda sorta adopted the infamous ‘turban-style’ which is commonly seen out here than in Canada which works for me! I haven’t been on instagram for too long, but one of the first people I ‘followed’ was a Kuwaiti fashionista/turbanista/whateveryouwanttocallher [@asciaakf] and shes just really cool! She’s a fashion designer and a model (I believe so!), but she’s been one of those people you follow and think to yourself ‘it would be so neat to meet her!’ alongside ‘I want to know how she ties her turban!’ lol a couple weeks ago she had posted some pictures of turban designs that would be making a debut at the Avenues (a mall here in Kuwait) and I was so on it! I had planned for Shaheer to go out and get one for me because I was at school and to take lots of pictures etc etc. but it was soon understood that only 6pieces had been designed in collab with Halston Heritage and would be auctioned off for charity during the evening. There went my chances of actually owning one, simply because my in-debt-student-self cannot (and probably will never be able to) compete with a Kuwaiti salary lol but I figured I might be able to get a glimpse of Ascia herself! (eep!!) So off we went, all giddy and excited like never before lol (it was quite sad actually) and we had a chance to see the turbans upcloseandpersonal with people speaking to us in Arabic about how to bid on one etc. thinking we were wealthy Arabs (yes we can pull that off haha) but Ascia was running late so we left and came back; as we left a professional looking paparazzi camera man stopped us to ask if he could take our picture which was uber cool so we said yes lol but I have no idea where the picture is or who he was…anyways, upon returning to Halston after a walk around and a bite to eat, there she was lol (this sounds ridiculous I know) she and her husband were mid conversation with some other woman and I tried to take a sneaky pic and basically got caught and ended their chat, but that’s okay because then Ascia started speaking to me! (yay!!) she shook my hand and asked me what my name was and I was kind of at a loss for words, but we took a couple pictures, shared a moment and a couple laughs, hugged, and that was it. (and I couldn’t stop smiling for the rest of the night :D)

In other news…! People sometimes underestimate the power of wealth here in the Middle East I think. In Kuwait at least; sometimes I feel like its one of those things where people have so much money they don’t know what to do with it (besides buying fancy cars, houses, chalets, shoes, bags, jewelery, sunglasses etc.) Obviously that’s not everyone, but you get my jist! We’ve heard stories of people owning tigers and cheetahs and monkey just as pets and keeping them in their garden, but they’re just stories and seeing is believing right?! One night Shaheer and I were crossing the street after leaving H&M (I only bought one thing mom) and a car stopped to let us pass. I’m a looker and love looking at my surroundings etc etc. so I just happened to glance at and into the car as we crossed. As my eyes darted from the driver to the passenger, I kid you not, there was a cheetah.on a leash.sitting in the passenger seat. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Like a real animal cheetah. A freaking well-behaved with a red leash around its neck and its head held high posing for National Geographic casually chilling with its owner kind of cheetah. I’m accustomed to dogs behaving and being treated like that, but I was gobsmacked! So much so I forgot to take a picture, alongside the fact I was trying to cross the street without getting run over, but nonetheless it was pretty awesome-ish! I will no longer doubt any Kuwaiti-pet stories I hear!!

 

20131003-154105.jpg

20131003-154234.jpg

20131003-154323.jpg

20131003-154151.jpg

20131003-154359.jpg

20131003-154619.jpg

 

20131003-154650.jpg

20131003-154714.jpg

20131003-154745.jpg

20131003-154531.jpg

20131003-154602.jpg

20131003-155015.jpg

Leave a Reply

