Oh Canada.

Oh Canada/Toronto. You were doing so well. I was just starting to feel home sickly and fuzzy feels about you and your people and the way things are done but it was too good to be true. I’m sat at Pearson Airport in my fairly (new) patriotic Toronto Raptors hoodie (probably my first time owning any Canadian/Torontonian memorabilia. yes not even Roots sweatpants. and I’ve only done so as a result of this trip and all the good ‘we the north’ feels [thanks Zain lol]) and I was hoping for a smooth check-in, reception, flight etc. My small talk for the check-in counter was prepared so as to distract the rep. from my slightly overweight luggage, I knew what seat I wanted to request alongside exactly what I wanted to pick up from duty free. Alas.

It decided to snow this morning. Toronto’s first proper snowfall of the year, wind and flakes, the whole 9-yards. Obviouslyy I know what happens when it snows. I was born here, went to school here, waited for countless buses in horrid weather etc etc. and once upon a time loved snow, so naturally we left home a couple hours earlier to get to the airport on time. Squads of salting trucks were taking over the streets and long story short, 2 and a half hours later we made it to the airport. Mind you my flight was leaving in 45 minutes, but I just had to drop my bags and run and I would’ve made it. Air Canada has got to have the worst customer service ever whilst employing the most senile, un-empathetic, non-smiling, and frankly rudest employees ever. One of the ladies had me jump the queue because of the time, but the woman at the desk was so bluntly in-your-face and goes nope you missed your flight go line up behind everyone else so I can serve them first. errrr…..so I waited and watched how she somehow managed to get someone else in my same position  on to get their flight.but that’s none of my business. got called to another counter with yet another failure of a representative who told me to go home and I’d have to get changed onto a flight tomorrow and actually had to reason with him to let me use a phone to call my brother to turn around and pick me up. “do you have a phone I can use please?” “no.” “the phone behind you, can I please use that? my phone isn’t working in this country.” “—-” “can you at least dial the number and you can call for me??!!!!” “what’s the number?” 😐   argh!! dealt with another rude lady until finally someone was silently able to change my flight whilst consciously ignoring my sniffling teary-eyed self.why are people so mean and unfriendly Air Canada?!?!?

So now I’ve got another 2ish hours at the gate. I’m seated in a middle seat on the plane which I can’t handle for a 13hour flight. Duty free didn’t have what I wanted, and my Starbucks tastes horrid. Everything happens for a reason and alhamdulillah again for everything and I didn’t have to pay extra for a new flight, but dang son. It’s definitely one of those days!

img_3398

Leave a Reply

