bare necessities.

Travelling to and from places tends to make you more aware of what you can/cannot live without for a certain amount of time alongside what’s practical versus what isn’t. With time I think I’ve been able to narrow down a few essentials which are ‘musts’ in my hand luggage and I basically never travel without, and as a result have made the entire travelling process a lot less stressful!

I’ve always loved my little mini trolley/hand luggage/small suitcase as it a) allowed me to take more stuff along and b) made me feel like a tourist, but to be honest all that rolling and pulling and then finding a spot big enough on the plane and then lifting and then waiting to grab it again and rush to your connecting flight became a little too ahh. Don’t get me wrong, I still use my ickle orange trolley when need be lol but behold the infamous backpack/rucksack/knapsack which a) allows you to roam duty free with both hands, b) doesn’t take up much space, c) isn’t really that heavy, (and d) has the potential to look cutesy..!) I wanted to share some of my favourites that I can’t travel without and would love to hear if you’ve got any ‘must-haves’ packed away!

Everything you see here fits snugly into me bag with room for a book, chocolates, the occasional blanket scarf and a little bit of duty free shopping of course ! πŸ™‚

-thick warm socks are a must because tbh I always get cold on planes and plus its just more comfortable, especially on longer flights, to take off your shoes and hang out in socks!

-Saira wears glasses so they replace the contacts during flights and the contact lens case fits perfectly into the glasses case essentially turning it into a practical 2-in-1 !

-wires [phone charger/earphones] because duh. Laptop gets charged before hand and is only ever used to watch shows or read a book so the battery usually does me good!

-card holder because you never know when your luggage is overweight and have to credit card that ish. also because you should just keep your money on you..!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I like to stay somewhat organized and have a spot for my passport and boarding passes and documents etc. so this ickle bag gets the job done. I tend to stick the backpack into the overhead compartment and just keep this with me at my seat because it saves me from getting up every time for the basics. When I’m not travelling, everything just stays in the bag which goes into an empty suitcase; that way when it’s time to go someplace I don’t have to worry about making sure I’ve got everything or look for me passport etc etc.!

-I never used to travel without a pen or writing tool, and then filling out forms and landing cards and visa papers without one or having to borrow one became a bit of a reality and so now I just leave this one in there at all times and it saves me a lot of trouble having to look for one!

-passport because again, duh. Also passport and pen placed in the same location is kinda sorta ideal for when you need your passport number and information to fill out the aforementioned forms so yay! *lightbulb!*

-pills; tylenol or paracetamol or anything to help migraines or sick feelings because they happen on long trips

-packet of tissues to cry, blow noses, soak up spills, etc. (because those are all realistic scenarios)

-I was forever losing those tiny keys that lock your suitcase and hiding them in safe places and then forgetting where I put them, but they’ve now found a permanent home πŸ™‚ When I’ve arrived home or at a destination, the lock goes in as well and that way everything just stays in one place!

-hand cream because it gets hella dry in the plane sometimes, or you come back from washing your hands and they’re longing to be moisturized !

-roller ball perfume is definitely a must! It isn’t pictured because it’s hiding in the bag, but   sometimes people stank or you end up smelling a little and rollerballs are just super super convenient to throw into your purse or take ‘to-go’! My favourites are the Victor Rolf Flowerbomb, Balenciaga’s Florabotanica, and  TomFord’s Velvet Orchid !

-also not shown is chewing gum! because you eat and sleep and sometimes don’t pack your toothbrush with you and chewing gum has that magic ability to make your mouth feel clean…! lol also chewing during take off helps prevent your ears from getting blocked!

-cutesy goodbye letters and notes from people who sometimes miss you also reside in this bag (which I found today #blacks) which are always nice to read when you’ve got nothing to do for 8 hours and make you reminisce about people and memories, and kind of place you in a thinky perspective moment about the past and what once was, versus the present and what’s to come in terms of where you’re going, like actually physically going because you’re at an airport or on a plane after all! (that got unnecessarily deep real fast lol)

This is not a ‘makeup’ bag, but more so along the lines of a touchup/basics/just enough to look presentable kinda sorta bag ! For when you’ve had a night flight and your face looks oily and beat as ever and you don’t want to walk out of the airport looking like a complete mess lol

-I randomly picked up this packet of travel sized bronzers by TooFaced at Sephora one day just because and had it sit with my normal size bronzers for ages. Realized that it was travel size for a reason, allowed it to come along on a couple trips, and it’s been with me ever since. The brush came with the set and is perfect both in terms of its size and to achieve that somewhat of a half-assed contour-on-the-go which is usually just enough!

-eyedrops because contacts and glasses and dryness in the plane make your eyes itchy and dry and these just make them feel better

-I love love love this lip balm and would probably be the one thing I recommend everyone try at least once! It’s the Chanel Hydrabeauty lip balm which is the perfect balance of not too greasy or glossy or tinted or smelly or dries out or you need to keep re-applying etc etc etc. (you get my drift) try it!

-‘Soap&Glory One Heck of a Blot’ aka the best blotting powder ever. The one and only soap&glory product I have ever used or wanted to use and again one of those random things I picked up at the drugstore, but oh so worth it especially when travelling and wanting to get rid of that tired traveler sheen we all get on our T-zone!

-There’s either a lipstick or some lipcolor in the bag just incase; today just so happened to be the Art Stick by Bobbi Brown which I’d also recommend you try. It’s basically a lip crayon but a good quality one with color that stays put and just makes you look a little put together lol this ones in the shade ‘bare nude’ and is definitely one of my favourites!

By no means are these super restrictive ideas on what you’ve got to carry with you in your hand luggage, but just some sharing ideas incase some of you stress about what to pack/not pack! Are there any ‘must haves’ that you travel with or always need in your bag?! xoxo

Leave a Reply

